On my needles

Since this is a blog primary to write about knitting, I though that my first post should be about what I am currently working on. Like most knitters, I usually have several projects going at one time, but I try and only have one “deadline” project at a time.  My current “deadline” project in a baby blanket, it is the third baby blanket that I have knit in the last six months, so I can say that I am excited about finishing it and concentrating on working on other projects. Here is the ravelry link to my project page.  http://ravel.me/purplesheep/k3mz9 It is the Bear Claw Blanket designed by Veronik Avery.  The really lovely thing about this design is that although the pattern calls for a very fine yarn it is very easy to knit it up faster by using a heavier weight yarn and just knitting fewer squares.  The only downside to this it that is will make thicker blanket and I think that nice thin sock-weight yarn blankets are so nice.  I would love to do this pattern again in a light weight yarn, but for now I’m happy to be working with worsted weight because the baby is due in January and I would never make it with a finer yarn. ImageHere is how my first square turned out.

Image

Leave a comment